Kiyotsune’s face #2

The mouth is now open. Kiyotsune is getting ready to tell his story.

In this picture you see Hea-Kyoung carving the chūjō mask I will use for Kiyotsune. At the bottom left is one of Udaka-sensei’s chūjō which is used as a model. A the top of the picture you can see paper shapes used to check the progress of specific portions of the mask.

IMG_2430

In the picture below you can clearly see the mouth just after being opened. ‘Frowning’ eyebrow marks are also deeper now.

IMG_2431

4 thoughts on “Kiyotsune’s face #2

  1. nice pics. Several years ago I was allowed to briefly ‘wear’ a mask designated a national treasure.

  2. I was shooting in the National Noh Theatre here in Tokyo in 2009, and after the performance finished I went back stage into the changing rooms with the ‘shite’ who I knew. He had used it in the play and it was still being readied for packaging. The girl I was shooting with was so moved afterwards that she was crying as we walked back towards the station.

    1. Wow – being able to try on a masked used in actual performance is a rare privilege. And yes I can understand your colleague’s feelings. Mask have a strong emotional charge.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.