Kiyotsune’s face

I consider myself a very ‘lucky’ (in the commonsense meaning of the term) person in many ways. Among these, one of my favourite is having a partner who carves Noh masks. Not only it is interesting to share a passion with someone who has a  different insight from yours, but also it is wonderful to be working towards the same goal, in this case my first Noh, Kiyotsune. Hea-Kyoung has been working on this Chūjō (中将) under the supervision of Udaka-sensei. This is a rather standard version of Chūjō (the name of a military rank, sometimes translated as lieutenant or captain – if you know more let me know), used for roles of young warriors of the Heike clan, or for roles of aristocrats, as in the Noh Tōru. I will talk about this mask more in future post – for now here are a couple of pictures of how Kiyotsune’s face is coming into being.

IMG_2297
Chujo, Noh mask by Kim Hea-Kyoung
IMG_2301
Chujo, Noh mask by Kim Hea-Kyoung
IMG_2298
Chujo, Noh mask by Kim Hea-Kyoung

One thought on “Kiyotsune’s face

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.